Bullet Journaling

So back in April, I started trying to journal. Basic plain, write something down every day. I did great for two months, then slowly started fading out. I still journal, just not every single day.

Recently, I discovered bullet journaling. It totally makes sense. It allows me the freedom to use my journal for more than just daily writing. And since it can be whatever you make it, I am going to try it.

I think I will keep traditional journal entries in there when I feel like it, but keeping an index allows me to keep my lists there as well. This is huge!

Another thing I might do, now that my daughter is back in school, is try a weekly spread so I can keep track of all her activities for the week. I found a simple weekly spread that I like that allows me plenty of space to free-form what’s happening during the week. My family uses a shared calendar for all important events, and we also use a shared grocery list, but it would be nice to see at a glance all that’s going on during the week mixed in with my thoughts.

When I was in high school, I carried a pocket calendar with me that I used to write down what happened each day: test dates, assignments due, went out with friends, period, etc.

I quit doing that when I went to college, although I don’t know why. My life isn’t as varied now, it’s more routine, but I’d love to start doing that again. Especially now that my daughter is getting older and starting to have more activities.

I purchased a new notebook. I LOVE notebooks. And I even set up the index and the key and I created one list. But I don’t necessarily need to use it right away. I can start journaling in this way in my current journal, even though right now it mostly just has traditional entries.

So I’m gonna start out slowly with my existing journal and then just migrate over when I use it up. At this rate, it won’t take much longer. And I’m excited to try out the weekly spread next week.

One thought on “Bullet Journaling

Share your thoughts with me

