Angst in a Tween

So I’ve gone off M/M for a moment and am picked up Tales from the Pantry: Random Rants & Musings of a Stay-At-Home Mom on Kindle Unlimited. It’s hilarious! And while it does remind me of some of the crazier moments with my daughter when she was little, I don’t feel like my life was as nuts or frazzled. Maybe because I only have one to deal with.

I think that will change as she gets older though, because she’s 9 so we are now getting to the puberty and hormones and preteen stage. Which I’m learning is a whole different ballgame of fun times.

Yesterday, I picked her up from school and after about 3 minutes, her attitude was snarky, mean and she yelled at me because she was thirsty and I didn’t have a drink for her. It didn’t matter that she was just within steps from the water fountain at school, had a water bottle she could have filled to have in the car and we were going straight home.

Then when we got home, she had a total meltdown with about 20 – 30 minutes of crying because she couldn’t have the ice cream on her school field trip. We think she is lactose intolerant, so she’s afraid to drink milk or eat ice cream. She also doesn’t eat a whole lot of cheese, except on her pizza. ~ insert eye roll~ Never mind that we buy lactose free milk and lactose free ice cream. She still refuses.

And then proceeds to complain for 10 minutes because I’m making her read for 20 minutes before she’s allowed to watch television.

Oi! And she’s only nine! Nine! I can’t even think how much worse it will be when the hormones really kick in and teenage angst becomes a living thing.

2 thoughts on “Angst in a Tween

  1. It gets worse. My daughter is 13 and decided to kiss a boy today at school. A Catholic School! The snarkiness gets worse too.

Share your thoughts with me

